Notification

Icon
Error

Options
desertcactusjoyce  
#1 Posted : Friday, November 7, 2008 4:56:47 AM(UTC)

I am brand new to digital scrapbooking.  My question is when I use some elements, they do not have a transparent background.  I click and drag them onto the page, but they have a greyish-white square around them.  I sometimes use the magnetic lasso tool and follow all around the design, and then do a copy and paste.  But, I'm wondering if there is some sort of "trick" that I don't know about that makes them transparent.

Thanks so much!

Joyce

stacycarlson  
#2 Posted : Friday, November 7, 2008 6:06:03 AM(UTC)

Hello Joyce!

First, what software are you using?

All elements should have transparency around them.  If they are saved as a .jpg, that is a dead giveaway that they aren't saved correctly, as .jpg doesn't support transparency.  If they are saved as a .png and the transparency isn't there, then it's most likely either an issue with the software you are using or with the way it was originally saved.

chbranch  
#3 Posted : Thursday, November 13, 2008 9:52:11 AM(UTC)

Hi Joyce, I'm pretty new to digi-scrapping too - I just started really doing layouts in March of this year.  One lesson I learned was that I couldn't use all my adorable clipart on my layouts for the reason you're stating - the backgrounds aren't transparent.  That's when I really started looking around to see the difference between "clipart", "graphics" and digital scrapbooking kits.  Like Stacy said above, it's that jpg, png file extension.  I never knew what the difference was (and still don't really understand it!) but I know one has a transparent background (png) and one doesn't (jpg and other file types).