Notification

Icon
Error

Options
pat71896  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, July 3, 2013 1:54:41 AM(UTC)

As I was working on a project the other day, I was thinking that I had resolved the issue I was having on the thread tension.  It still was not right.

Being the most frustrated person I know, I kept thinking - machine, just what do you want from me???  The machine was silent because it keeps its secrets that way.

Then I realized that when I solve (or think I have solved) an issue, sometimes I forget that it can be a COMBINATION of things, not just one correction.  Duh!

I have always kept a 'notebook' of one sort or another but recently started using Word for multiple reasons.  For one thing, I can search for key words to get my answers more quickly.  Here are some more reasons that I keep a notebook still (I have been embroidering for 12 years):

• Even the most simple of things can be a problem, such as using a different color than black for my outlines.  The reason is that I feel like black is SHOUTING and I will normally use navy blue or brown for a slightly softer look. 
  • I tend to have tension problems and since I have a 15 needle machine, keeping the needle reviews separate for each number is important.  Just because needle #4 is not working, does not mean that my machine is not working.  I can check out #4 at a more convenient time.
  • I do forget things that seem to be simple enough.  For instance, I like my designs to 'pop' off the fabric but the design calls for a dull color.  I need to remember that the numbers are not chiseled in granite.
  • I do try to be sure I can understand those notes.  Have you ever gone to an important lecture and taken notes and been unable to understand them??? Going the line, I am at the head of the que and it is a long one!