Notification

Icon
Error

Options
melissakbs  
#1 Posted : Monday, May 14, 2012 5:43:50 AM(UTC)

Hi! I'm Melissa and I am new to sewing and VERY new to machine embroidery. I have made  a few pouches and tote bags and was thinking "This sure would add some pizzazz if it had initials on it". I am considering purchasing either the Brother SE400 or PE500. I would use it for mostly 3 initial monograms and single initials, maybe my kids' names, nothing too fancy. The fonts I like are Empire, Curlz, and Diamond.

Once I download these fonts, what next? Will I need software to put the letters together for the monograms and spell out the names? Will a free software program be able to do this? Any recommendations? I don't want to spend a lot of money in case I burn out of doing this as a hobby.

Thanks for any and all advice!

Melissa

pattiann  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2012 12:41:56 AM(UTC)

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)

Hi, Melissa.

Sorry for the late response. 

The two machines you have mentioned; SE 400 (se stands for sewing an embroidery) is a combo and the PE (personal embroidery) is embroidery only.  Both are in the affordable category and this limits the embroidery area.  A limited embroidery area is not insurmountable, but to stitch out a larger design, you would need software that splits the large design into smaller files and a "step hoop" so you do not have to re-hoop for each segment.  There is a good tutorial on splitting and re-hooping at "It's Sew Easy".

Free software???? Universal Stitch Era is the only one I am familiar with and it is a bear to work with (IMO). Wilcom Trusizer is another.

Embird is one that is very popular.  It is not free, but affordable.  There is a free trial.  Best price is at the Secrets of Embroidery website.

There is also a free tutorial for using Embird to combine letters and design files at the ABC-Embroidery website. http://www.annaboveembroidery.com/tiformaem.html