Notification

Icon
Error

Options
alliejem  
#1 Posted : Saturday, March 22, 2008 3:26:44 AM(UTC)

Hi there would someone kindly help me?

I am a complete beginner and have bought a machine so I can do t shirts, baby clothes, etc etc.  On my first attempt I managed to embroider the front and back of a sleepsuit/onesie together and so ruined it!

Is there an easy way to avoid doing this? The clothes are so small and I am finding it very hard to hoop up just one layer of the garment and keep the rest out of the way. I have a brother machine with a large and medium hoop.  Would a small hoop make it easier?

I have read somewhere about just sticking the fabric on top of a sticky stabilizer , but even doing that on a tiny baby suit it is virtually impossible to keep the rest of the fabric out of the way and keep the rest of it flat enough to be sewn.

Am I missing a trick? Can someone please tell me what to do?!

many thanks

Jem.

chacksfield  
#2 Posted : Saturday, March 22, 2008 8:36:16 AM(UTC)

Hi Jem, email me at rmaio@iprimus.com.au and i will forward you a article l have on embroidering baby clothes. Once you have done your first one, it will be easy. Sue
swanson1227  
#3 Posted : Saturday, March 22, 2008 11:39:58 AM(UTC)

Can you get a smaller hoop? I work on baby clothes all the time on my 4x4 hoop and don't have much trouble getting the excess out of the way. 

An alternative besides the sticky stabilizer is to deconstruct the garment. I've done this to embroider a pocket, then sewn it back on.  If you don't want to mess with ripping out seams and the outfit is big enough, I sometimes cut just along the seam, then resew it right at the edge so you don't lose too much of the fit.  That over-lock stitch is a bear to rip out, but cutting it off doesn't take up much space.

czemommy  
#4 Posted : Sunday, March 23, 2008 1:57:54 PM(UTC)