Notification

Icon
Error

Options
liv92599  
#1 Posted : Thursday, December 2, 2010 2:14:24 AM(UTC)

I recently purchased a refurbished PE-700, and unfortunately am having a lot of difficulty learning it. I refuse to give up on it yet, but I have yet to stitch out one single project without some sort of trouble! It's very frustrating!! My current problem appears to be the thread tension. I have changed the type of embroidery thread, and that seems to help a little, but I just cannot seem to get the thread tension right. It will stitch out one part of my project just fine, and then on another section of the design, the tension will be too tight. Sometimes, the thread frays and breaks.

Can anyone offer any suggestions. I am fairly new at this, but I've been able to atitch out error free designs in the past, so I know it's not entirely "operator error" Smile

pat71896  
#2 Posted : Saturday, December 4, 2010 12:44:44 PM(UTC)

Hello - Thread tension is a significant issue for anyone.  You can check  your thread tension with the zip file that is in this blog - The Avid Embroiderer, Needles.  There is a lot of good information (IMHO) that will assist you.  If you have been fiddling with the tension, it can make a nightmare for you.  Work with the test and use old throw away clothes to practice.  Use up some of your fabric stash for these times as well. 

I am uncertain about a portion of a design stitching out but then in another section it is a problem.  That is unusual.  One thing that comes to mind is a poorly digitized design where there is too much stitching which creates cast iron stitching.  That will cause fraying and thread breakage.  Try other designs.  Work with simple ones and work your way toward something more complex.

I think (IMHO) that when starting, too many embroiderers try out something that is beyond their capabilities.  We all want to do something spectacular but the fact is that no truly talented person begins at the top.